Shannon G

ShannonG.jpg

TUTOR PROFILE: 

I was born in St. Paul, Minnesota, where I grew up with my parents and two older sisters. I went to college at a small liberal arts school in Winona, Minnesota. While in college I majored in Social Science Education. I worked a variety of jobs while in college, such as at sporting events as an announcer for the hockey team and at the front desk in the weight room. I began my teaching career in Minnesota and eventually moved to the Phoenix area.

I have a number of years of experience teaching social studies, both at the middle school and high school level. My hope is to also begin teaching language arts, as I recently earned a Master of Arts degree in Literacy Education. Prior to full-time teaching, I was a substitute teacher for all ages, pre-k through high school. I also have experience tutoring in a one-on-one setting with students of all ages through the college level.

I connect with students because I am very interested in everything! I love hearing about new books people are reading, television shows they are watching, and music they are listening to. I enjoy hearing about people’s lives and hobbies. I am always looking for ways to bring students interests into my curriculum to help students see that learning can happen anywhere at any time!

I absolutely love working out! My favorite place to work out is at Orange Theory Fitness. My other favorite activity is traveling. I enjoy anything from a good road trip to a flight across the world. If I am not working out or traveling, I am either talking to my mom on the phone or reading a good book from my Book of the Month!

I offer tutoring support for K-12 students in social studies, language arts, and general study skills. 

Testimonial:

Coming soon...